2016 FIBA 3×3 World Tournament kicks off today in China

Twenty teams for both men’s and women’s divisions will participate at the 2016 FIBA 3×3 World Championships starting Tuesday, October 11, in Guangzhou, China. 

Among those participating in the men’s division are Serbia, Russia, Italy, Qatar, New Zealand, Slovenia, Uruguay, Andorra, Indonesia, Egypt, Poland, Romania, Spain, Hungary, Philippines, USA, Netherlands, Japan, Turkey, and China.

For women’s division, these are Netherlands, Ukraine, Poland, Indonesia, New Zealand, Hungary, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Macau, Italy, Spain, Japan, USA, Chinese Taipei, France, Czech Republic, China, Romania, and Cook Islands.

Finalized rosters for this year’s championships were cut into four players.

Regarded as the number one urban team sport globally, 3×3 was inspired by many forms of street ball played around the world.

Two teams with three players each face off on a half-court with one basket.

Its first successful play was seen during the international competition at the Youth Olympic Games in Singapore in 2010.

Nike is founding partner of FIBA 3×3.

Live streaming of the tournament will begin tonight at 11:00pm on FIBA 3×3’s YouTube channel.

The FIBA 3×3 tournament ends on Saturday, October 15.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s